What the French think of South African wine

Every year a group of prestigious French judges taste and score South African wines blindly for the Classic Wine Trophy Awards.

The purpose of the Classic Wine Trophy is to recognize, reward and promote wines of elegance, balance and finesse with the ability to age well. This year the awards ceremony took place at the Table Bay Hotel and winetimes was again privileged enough to attend this almost french family type event.

One of the remarks by the judges that echoed true was the current green state of South African Sauvignon Blancs. Over acidic and generally unbalance sauvies rendered any representation on the final awards list to zero. On the upside the judges were impressed with the style of Pinot Noir produced over the last couple of years.

The Final Results for the Classic Wine Trophy Awards 2012 are:

Overall Winner
Glen Carlou – The can’t-do-wrong winery from Paarl.

Méthode Cap Classique
Boschendal Grand Cuvée Brut 2007

White Wines
Glen Carlou Chardonnay 2010
Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2010
Julien Schaal Chardonnay 2011
Saronsberg Viognier
Teddy Hall Dr Jan Cats Chenin Blanc Reserve 2010
Tokara Reserve Collection Stellenbosch Chardonnay 2010

Red Whites
Cape Chamonix Reserve Pinot Noir 2010
Delaire Graff Botmaskop 2009
Glen Carlou Gravel Quarry Cabernet Sauvignon 2008
Groot Constantia Pinotage 2010
Groot Constantia Shiraz 2009
KWV The Mentors Shiraz 2009
Perdeberg Reserve Shiraz 2010
Sijnn 2008
Super Single Vineyards Mount Sutherland Syrah 2009

Sweet Wines
Perdeberg Weisser Riesling Natural Sweet 2010