2015 SA Champion Shiraz (Wooded) awarded to Waverley Hills Organic Wine

The 2015 SA Young Wine Champions were unveiled during the SA Young Wine Awards Gala Dinner held at Augrabies, near Upington, on Friday 21 August.

Overall 2163 wines were entered throughout all the categories. A total of 120 wines that won medals in the Shiraz (wooded) category. Waverley Hills CW Reserve Shiraz 2015 won both a gold medal plus a class award for the Paarl region. This young, organic Shiraz went along to win the overall SA Champion Shiraz (wooded) awards at the 2015 SA Young Wine Awards.

Waverley Hills is bursting at the seams with pride with this award. Being a small organic wine producer it only entered one wine into the competition and it came out champion.

The CW Reserve Shiraz is named after the late Chris du Toit who was one of the pioneers of the South African wine industry and was employed at Stellenbosch Farmers Winery for 29 years, where he ended his career as Director of Operations. He was one of the founding members and first generation owner of Brenn-O-Kem (Pty) Ltd.

Chris du Toit was a wine farmer at heart and had always had a keen interest and dream to one day produce his own quality wines. He unfortunately passed away in 2001 but with the first vineyards planted and growing at Waverley Hills, he passed away knowing that his dream would become a reality.

Second generation son’s Kobus and Wynand continued this dream by producing quality organic wines on Waverley Hills. A block on the farm was identified as producing the highest quality Shiraz grapes with small berries and incredibly low yield of 2 tons per hectare. Only these grapes have been used for the CW Reserve Shiraz.

This exclusive, handcrafted wine is an ode to the late Chris du Toit, for his love of wine, his passion for the wine industry and first generation owner of Waverley Hills.

A lasting quote from Waverley Hills; “For us quality is not just a word, but rather a daily living reality.”

Top image caption: Johan Delport, Waverley Hills Winemaker, receiving the Burgoyne Trophy at the awards gala dinner.