Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

What could be surprising to many people is that there are indeed many vegan chocolates around for those who want to enjoy chocolate without having to worry about any animal products being used in their creation. As a matter of fact, most dark chocolates are vegan because they are made up of cocoa and coerce butter which both derived from the cocoa plant. What makes chocolate classified as non-vegan, however, is that dairy products are added to the pure chocolate to make it into milk chocolate.

1. Requirements for Vegan chocolate

 Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

To be able to call chocolate vegan, the company making it has to ensure that no animal products were added to the chocolate at any point in its production. This does not mean that vegan chocolate has to be simple plain chocolate to be considered as vegan. On the contrary, vegan chocolates have various fillings such as dried fruits, and nuts. Another thing that vegan chocolates should be void of is preservatives or chemicals that were made using any type of animal byproduct.

2. Cocoa percentages and their effects

CocoaBeansChocolate Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

Although most dark chocolate is considered vegan because it has no milk, there are different concentrations of cocoa. These different concentrations affect the taste of the chocolate greatly. Higher cocoa percentages make the chocolate more bitter than lower percentages do. Different percentages of cocoa also affect what types of fillings work with the chocolate to balance out the taste and add depth.

3. Vegan milk chocolate

chocolate festival e1466593232295 Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

If you are craving the taste of milk chocolate without having to consume animal milk that is added to regular milk chocolate, there is a way for you to enjoy that taste. Some vegan chocolate companies use alternatives that make the chocolate taste just like milk chocolate without making the chocolate become classified as non-vegan. As a matter of fact, there are companies that specialize in having vegan chocolates with fillings that are normally just found in non-vegan chocolates too.

4. Chocolate desserts for vegans

Super Decadent Chocolate Cake With Chocolate Fudge Frosting e1488920099958 Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

There are many vegan desserts that contain both chocolate and cocoa powder. This just proves that being vegan does not mean you have to give up the little things you enjoy eating. Some of the vegan desserts that can be found in many places are chocolate ice cream, brownies, and chocolate cakes. You can also make yourself chocolate at home to ensure that it is truly vegan.

5. Vegan chocolate companies

 Chocolates for Vegans – Here’s What You Need to Know

As mentioned before, there are many companies that specialize in vegan chocolate. These companies provide an array of chocolates and fillings to cater to every chocolate lover’s needs. If you do not have one that is near you, or none of your local supermarkets have vegan chocolates, you can always order chocolate to be delivered to you online.

Becoming vegan does not mean that you should cut out chocolate from your life. Chocolate is not only one of the best comfort foods there is, but it also has a positive effect on your health due to the nutrients in it. In conclusion if you look hard enough for good vegan chocolate you will be able to find it no matter where you are.