Results of the 2015 Taj Classic Wine Trophy Show

At a glittering reception held on the evening of 6th March 2015 in the Taj Cape Town’s new five-star banqueting venue, The Reserve at Taj Cape Town, Master of Ceremonies, Nicola Jackman, awarded coveted Bacchus Trophies to only sixteen of the wines entered into the Taj Classic Wine Trophy 2015Trophy winners, media, judges and distinguished guests attended the elegant banquet alongside a few members of the public fortunate enough to have purchased some of the limited public tickets on offer.

The awards ceremony was the culmination of a rigorous judging process that took place between 2nd and 5th March 2015. It sought to recognize, reward and promote elegance, balance, finesse, ageability and sense of place achieved by vignerons in South Africa. A distinguished panel of International judges, committed to upholding the highest standards in this unique celebration of South African wine were given the task of uncovering wines possessing these unique traits. The panel comprised: Olivier POELS, editor and managing partner of La Revue du VIN de France and wine commentator for Europe 1 radio; Olivier POUSSIER, best sommelier in the world winner, wine consultant, writer and group sommelier of Lenôtre; Claude GILOIS, well-known French wine writer, consultant and wine blogger; Thierry GERMAIN proprietor of Domaine des Roches Neuves, Saumur; Christophe DURAND, Taj Classic Wine Trophy organizer and proprietor of DORRANCE Wines; Tatiana MARCETTEAU, sommelier at TAJ Cape Town; Stephane DUVERNES, proprietor of wine distributor Les Chais St Laurent, Paris ; Germain LEHODEY, sommelier of Mosaic restaurant;; Xavier DIDIER, former sommelier at Tantris, Munich; Jerome FAURE, corporate sommelier Constance Hotels and Resorts, Mauritius; and Todd RAMSEY from Marram wine Importers, Canada.

Bacchus Trophy winners will be listed in La Revue du VIN de France 2015 and promoted at Salon de La Revue du VIN de France in Paris in May 2015.

The winners were as follows:

Bubbly and White Wine:

• Secret Cellar Blanc de Blanc MCC NV
• Boutinot Mon Vieux Sauvignon Blanc 2014
• Delaire Graff White Blend 2012
• De Morgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2014
Glen Carlou Chardonnay 2014
• Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2012

Red Wine:

• Sumaridge Pinot Noir 2012
• Groot Constantia Pinotage 2013
• Chamonix Greywacke Pinotage 2012
• Groot Constantia Cabernet Sauvignon 2012
• Bellingham The Bernard Series Basket Press Syrah 2013
• Boschkloof Epilogue Shiraz 2012
• Groot Constantia Merlot 2013
• Morgenster 2001
• Webersburg Cabernet Sauvignon/ Merlot/ Petit Verdot 2011
• Saronsberg Full Circle 2012

The prize for the Most Iconic Entry of 2015 was awarded to Groot Constantia and winemaker Boela GERBER (top image) walked away with a pair of new barriques sponsored by distinguished coopers Tonnellerie Claude Gillet and Tonnellerie Darnajou.

In addition, a local judging panel then decided which of the trophy winners presented the best overall value to patrons of the Taj Cape Town and readers of GQ South Africa. This panel was convened by wine judge Jonathan STEYN and consisted of: Christian EEDES – Editor of and prominent wine judge; Khuselo MPUTA – Sommelier at Grande Provence; Craig TYSON – Editor of GQ magazine South Africa; Jeanri-Tine VAN ZYL – columnist for; Michael POWNALL – Group General Manager of Taj Cape Town; Tatiana MARCETTEAU – Sommelier at TAJ Cape Town:

• Secret Cellar Blanc de Blanc MCC NV
• De Morgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2014
• Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2014
• Groot Constantia Merlot 2013
• Webersburg Cabernet Sauvignon/ Merlot/ Petit Verdot 2011
• Saronsberg Full Circle 2012

The awarded wines were presented with certificates of recognition and will be showcased in GQ South Africa and served in the Taj Cape Town during the month of June 2015. The Classic Wine Trophy Team wishes to congratulate all the winners and look forward to another successful event in 2016. We also wish to thank Taj Cape Town, La Revue du VIN de France, Tonnellerie Claude Gillet, DORRANCE Wines, GQ South Africa and Tonnellerie Darnajou for once again supporting this prestigious competition.

Details of the 2016 competition will be made available at later in the year.

Wine enthusiasts in Gauteng will be pleased to hear that the 2015 Bacchus Trophy winners will be showcased at a lunch designed by Chef Chantel Dartnall at Mosaic restaurant in Pretoria later in the year.

For those details and any other enquiries please contact Sabrina on or (021) 683 7479 (office) or 083 415 7211 (cell).